HomeSchool LifeAcademicThe CurriculumSenior FormsNew Academic Structure

New Academic Structure

The New Academic Structure (NAS) that has been implemented since September 2009 principally aims to prepare students for future challenges that work towards maintaining Hong Kong’s competitiveness in the international arena.

The NAS also works towards enhancing students’ adaptability, creativity, independent thinking, and life-long learning capabilities in the six years of secondary schooling. Students with different abilities, interests, and aptitudes can develop their talents through the broad and balanced senior secondary curriculum.

Apart from taking the four core subjects (Chinese Language, English Language, Mathematics and Citizenship and Social Development), students can choose 2 to 3 elective subjects. These elective subjects can be chosen from NSS elective subjects of different Key Learning Areas, Applied Learning courses and/or other language courses.

School based assessment is also a main part of this new academic structure.

Students are also offered Other Learning Experiences through which they can acquire learning experiences of moral and civic education, community services, physical and aesthetic education, and career-related experiences.

Overall, the aims of the NSS curriculum are broader and richer than previous curricula. Students’ pathways for further education and employment are thus more diversified. The new curriculum can also foster a broader scope of views and life-long learning abilities for students.

Curriculum Content of NAS

4 Core Subjects2 or 3 Elective SubjectsOther Learning Experiences
Chinese Language
English Language
Citizenship and Social Development
2 or 3 subjects chosen from
NSS elective subjects,
Applied Learning courses, or
other language courses
Moral and Civic Education
Community Service
Career-related Experiences
Aesthetic Development
Physical Development
Scroll to Top